Ninestep/Diyeboard/L-FASTER 8'' mountainboard/trucks/electronics review

Disclaimer: Before continuing to read this review, I want to point out that the board has not been purchased from diyeboard. Upon asking for the difference between their A grade components and the identically looking equipment I bought, I received no conclusive evidence that leads me to believe that there is a difference in quality.

Background info

Snowboarding is/or rather was one of my biggest passions. I started riding 20 years ago. However, due to the increasing prices of Wintersport vacations and the necessity to support my wife in a foreign country, I had to give most of it up about 7 years ago. The added frustration of deteriorating snow conditions most certainly did not help and I was rarely able to capture the same feeling I had when bombing down mountains off-piste all those years back.

I looked at regular mountain boarding, kiteboarding & kitesurfing, but these sports were too restrictive, especially in Germany. Hardly any decent slopes nor big lakes around.

Enter esk8. The prices were steadily dropping and several resellers were offering a Chinese made electric mountain board, sold under different brand names. They all appear to be identical, with the exception of a few specs (motors, deck/bamboo mix).

The specs as indicated by the reseller:

• 11AH LG Li-Ion
  • 20-30 KM range
  • 42 km/h top speed
  • 2000W (total)
  • climbs of 30Âș possible
  • bamboo/maple deck
  • 8’’ wheels

It comes with a 2A charger (roughly took 5+ hours to charge after a ride).

The specs that you will find are more important If you are new to ESK8, the above mentioned specs sound impressive
and they are, if you stick to flat roads and a bit of offroading with some minor climbs. However, the manufacturer/distributor/reseller will often omit the specifications that have a big influence on performance. Cheecky.

• The chinese 2.1 ESC delivers 25A per motor (50A total)